an owl a day

and also maybe sewing stuff

my twelfth and thirteenth owls June 11, 2013

Filed under: owl du jour — geniusscientist @ 10:48 am

This is an Elf Owl.

He is very tiny, I guess.  According to Wikipedia, “it is the world’s lightest owl. . . .  The mean body weight of this species is 1.4 oz.  These tiny owls are 4.9 to 5.7 inches long and have a wingspan of about 10.6 inches.”

And here is another Great Horned Owl:

I drew a Great Horned Owl on April 29th as well.  I wasn’t going to do repeats until I had drawn one of EVERY OWL ON EARTH but then this guy came up in my bird-a-day calendar so I drew him.  He looks as though he has something to say.  (I think he is also probably a dark morph.  My bird-a-day calendar doesn’t give very much trivial information though, so that’s just me spit-ballin’.)

 

One Response to “my twelfth and thirteenth owls”

  1. SavvyChristine Says:

    Great Horned Owl is unimpressed with life. Also, I capitalized all three words of Great Horned Owl, thanks to your other blog post. But seriously, Great Horned Owl is dissatisfied with my accomplishment.


Leave a Reply

