an owl a day

and also maybe sewing stuff

my first owl April 24, 2013

Filed under: owl du jour — geniusscientist @ 4:00 pm

I have decided that one thing that I will do on this blog is post owl doodles.  By which I mean, tiny pictures of owls that I drew myself.

The thing that I doodle now (and have been doodling for almost twenty years) is just a . . . shape.   And it fits in with itself sort of well but not really.  And I’m really good at drawing them now, but who cares, right?  It’s just a dumb little three-lobed shape.

But if I spend the next twenty years drawing an owl, I’ll probably get pretty good at that eventually, and being good at doodling an owl is something that other people will be envious of.

Anyway I started two days ago and already missed a day.  Here’s the 4/22/2013 owl.  I drew him by looking at a photograph of a real owl.  (A Western screech owl.)  I think I’m going to try to do that for a while and develop my own style before looking at other stylized owls.

Today the bird on my bird-a-day calendar is a snowy owl, so I’ll draw him today.

 

Leave a Reply

